Cheshire Cat Computing

Software support and information
It is currently Tue Oct 24, 2017 9:31 am

All times are UTC + 12 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: bugs 1.7.10
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2015 3:18 pm 
Offline
Silver User

Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:20 pm
Posts: 12
command line: BUILD command does not build at a specified location

PLAN : rotation only works if NO preceding comma CALL xyz 5,5,5,1 fails CALL xyz 5,5,5 1 succeeds


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: bugs 1.7.10
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 4:07 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 11:42 am
Posts: 3039
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
The BUILD command can sometimes be confusing, since the location given to BUILD corresponds to 0,0,0 in the called plan. Since this is usually the corner of the structure, you can get an apparent offset.

The way around this is to define a special 'wrapper' plan that simply calls the real plan at an offset (and possibly rotation) in such a way that the new structure is centered when it should be. An example of this is the cottage blueprint -- the '_cottage' plan is the actual cottage, but the 'cottage' plan makes an offset in such a way that 0,0,0 is right in front of you.

The syntax check on the CALL is being a bit pedantic in only accepting commas between the coordinates. This should be fixed in later versions of the module. THanks for pointing it out...

_________________
Steve Shipway
UNIX Systems, ITSS, University of Auckland, NZ
Woe unto them that rise up early in the morning... -- Isaiah 5:11


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: bugs 1.7.10
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 9:17 pm 
Offline
Silver User

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 9:13 pm
Posts: 42
When generating models with /wand copy please move the placing of e.g. torches to the end of the plan otherwise it might try to place e.g. torches where there is no wall at the moment of placement and thus those torches won't attach and will just fall and float around to be picked up. Thanks.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: bugs 1.7.10
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2015 11:05 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 11:42 am
Posts: 3039
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
This is a good point. Currently, the copy just runs side to side and copies directly. It would probably be more effective to do a two-pass copy; the first pass handling the stable blocks, and the second handling the decoration blocks (torches, trapdoors, plants, rails...). This would make a final Plan that is more likely to hold together; in fact I've done this manually in the various example plans, for this reason.

The current version of the mod only makes one pass for blocks, and a second pass for mobs (if the copymobs flag is set in the options). I'll look at fixing this for the next version.

_________________
Steve Shipway
UNIX Systems, ITSS, University of Auckland, NZ
Woe unto them that rise up early in the morning... -- Isaiah 5:11


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: bugs 1.7.10
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 4:56 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 11:42 am
Posts: 3039
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
The problem with sequence (mentioned above) is now fixed in 2.6beta1

_________________
Steve Shipway
UNIX Systems, ITSS, University of Auckland, NZ
Woe unto them that rise up early in the morning... -- Isaiah 5:11


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: bugs 1.7.10
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 8:01 am 
Offline
Silver User

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 9:13 pm
Posts: 42
Thanks. Haven't seen the link to download, have read the announcement though. The next would be a suggestion.
If it would be possible to directly generate the PRIVATE/PUBLIC classes where the PUBLIC class would always
just call the PRIVATE one. The reason is I can easily set the point from where to start the build and rotation in
the CALL command. I do it manualy at the moment for all blueprints since after copying it from world it's not
always clear from where and with what rotation the build starts. Sorry to bug you like this but I really like
your mod and use it a lot. Almost all the walls (my obsession) are built from a blueprint.
Attachment:
File comment: Walled village
walled_village.jpg
walled_village.jpg [ 109.77 KiB | Viewed 2697 times ]


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: bugs 1.7.10
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 10:29 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 11:42 am
Posts: 3039
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
That build is looking nice! Are you able to post the Blueprint for the wall section to the blueprints forum?

So, if I understand, you want the 'copy' to generate

private plan _xxxx
....
end
public plan xxxx
call 0 0 0 0 _xxxx
end

instead of the current? Unfortuntely, this would be awkward, as copy/save is done for an individual plan rather than for a whole blueprint (where a 'blueprint' is a file containing multiple plans, of course). The 'copy' creates a single plan in memory with the appropriate name, and 'save' writes that plan out to a file.

Hopefully, it is not too onerous to add the wrapper where you require it after doing a copy/save... this is how I've been working with the plans that I've created.

_________________
Steve Shipway
UNIX Systems, ITSS, University of Auckland, NZ
Woe unto them that rise up early in the morning... -- Isaiah 5:11


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: bugs 1.7.10
PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2015 9:08 am 
Offline
Silver User

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 9:13 pm
Posts: 42
Yes that was what I meant. No that's fine, to make the wrapper is no hassle. Thanks for the clarification.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 12 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group